Tonight’s Movie – John Dies At the End (2012)

Even the poster for John Dies oromises something different than the usual.

Even the poster for John Dies oromises something different than the usual.

John Dies At the End is one of those movies I’ve been looking forward to ever since I ran across the first trailer. It’s actually been available for awhile now from various Video On Demand sites and other sources, but I’ve held off because I knew I’d have the chance to see it on the big screen, and tonight is the night, as it opens at 9:45 at the Belcourt Theater here in Nashville. Actually, this is a pretty big weekend at the Belcourt, as they are also opening Miguel Gomez’s new film Tabu and the documentary A Place at the Table (which will be accompanied by a discussion with Sarah Johnson of Nashville Grown, Linnet Overton of Community Food Advocates, and caterer Martha Stamps after the 7:30 show). Also on tap for the weekend are midnight movie showings of The Big Lebowski, and the beginning of the Universal 100 retrospective with weekend only showings of a new 35mm print of To Kill a Mockingbird.

Anyway, back to John Dies: I’m planning to be at the 9:45 showing tonight with a couple of friends, and I hope to see more of you there, too. It looks incredibly intriguing, and from everything I’m hearing so far (though I’ve done my bet not to hear too much) it definitely lives up to its billing. You can be sure I’ll be back sometime in the next few days with my thoughts on it, though probably that won’t be up until early next week, simply because the weekend is shaping up to be a busy one.

Here’s the red band trailer which is definitely NSFW:

So, what are you watching this weekend?

4 comments on “Tonight’s Movie – John Dies At the End (2012)

  1. Bark Lee says:

    What a wild ride this was! Enjoyed the brats… -Bark Lee

  2. Michael Laws says:

    Dangit, Squirrel, I told you to stay out of the sauce. Ah, well, at least you’re not trying to talk to me through a meat monster.

  3. BMN says:

    I have to see if this is available via iTunes or Netflix. I really have to see this movie.

  4. […] Washington, DC, and unlike Michael (thanks for reminding me that it was available online) over at Durmoose Movie Musings, I didn’t have the benefit of seeing this awesome movie in a […]

Leave a Comment

