In a New Place – The Place Beyond the Pines (2012)

place_beyond_the_pines

Hmmm… Is this a place you want to go to?

It seems funny at times: as many movies and trailers as I seem to watch, as much movie-related information as crosses my desk, there are still those that are surprisingly off my radar until either they, or their trailers at least, hit the theaters. This was the case with director Derek Cianfrance‘s new film The Place Beyond the Pines,, the trailer for which just happened to catch my eye in a theater last week . Place was written and directed by Cianfrance (whose previous effort, Blue Valentine, I also need to catch up with, but excited a lot of people whose opinions I respect)  and stars Bradley Cooper, Ryan Gosling, Rose Byrne, Eva Mendes, and Ray Liotta. It had its premier at TIFF (the Toronto International Film Festival) last year, and is set to open in theaters at the end of March. Based solely on the strength of this cast, the reputation of the director, and the trailer (I’ve tried not to find out too much more about it, as it looks like a good movie to go into cold), I’ve got a feeling this is going to be one of those movies that isn’t going to get a lot of popular buzz, and certainly not a lot of advertising dollars, and will likely not last that long in the theaters, but will turn out to be very much worth seeing.

Anyway, it’s one I definitely will be checking out myself, and I’ll  be back with a follow-up once I have, but I thought I’d go ahead and share the trailer with you now.

So what do you think? Is this a Place you want to check out too? Or does it make you want to just drive on by? Let me know below.

Leave a Comment

