Saturday Double Feature: Oblivion (2013) and…

Yeah, I’m a little later than I really like to be with this, but hey, it’s still Saturday (at least it is here as I write), so… Anyway, once again the basic idea is to take a movie that is out in theaters now, and pair it up with another movie from the 1980s or before for a Saturday Double Feature. Sometimes the connection will be obvious, and sometimes it’ll be a little less so, but that’s part of the fun.

Actually, this one was kind of tricky. Y’see, I realized on thinking about it that one of the reasons that I liked Oblivion as much as I did, and that I think those who are giving it a chance are enjoying it, is that it echoes so many earlier science fiction movies. Now, I’m not saying that it directly copies any of them, but there are bits and pieces that are obviously using either established tropes or bits and pieces from other films. In a way, it’s almost like a sci-fi version of a remix song. It also has that kind of slow build first act that characterized a lot of 70s sci-fi and which may actually be responsible for one of the main criticisms that I’ve heard of the movie, that it s slow getting started. Yes, I can see this, but personally I think it’s kind of important that it spends that time because it does give the film a chance to effectively set its tone and set up what is to follow. Anyway, I do plan to write more on this later in the week, so for now I’ll just leave it at that and let you go ahead and have a look at the trailer.

Ok, so acknowledging that it has these echoes actually made it harder to pick just one movie to pair it with for a double feature, and I have to admit that I’m not fully satisfied with the one that I finally decided to go with, because I’m not sure that it really fits tonally. Still, it does have a few surviving “real” humans, and exploration of ruins beneath a devastated Earth, a Forbidden Zone with secrets that reveal more about the past and what happened to humanity, and a secret race of people dedicated to fighting mankind’s “conquerors”. What’s the movie? From 1971, it’s one of the best sequels ever, Beneath the Planet of the Apes. The trailer is below, but I do feel it necessary to note that it does contain spoilers for the first movie in the series, just in case you have never seen that one. Seriously. Big spoilers. You have been warned. Okay, here you go:

So what do you think? Like I said, I feel like there are a number of other possibilities of pairings for this one, and if you’ve seen it, I’d love to hear your thoughts on ones that might make for a better pair. And don’t forget to pass along any ideas about other new releases that you’d like to see paired up with something from the past. Just hit that comment button below. I’d love to hear from you.

Until next time, Happy Viewing!

Leave a Comment

