Saturday Double Feature: Kevin Hart – Let Me Explain (2013) and…

Saturday on the blog means Saturday Double Feature, right? Remember, the basic idea here is to take a movie that is out in theaters now, and pair it up with another movie from the 1980s or before.. Sometimes the connection will be obvious, and sometimes it’ll be a little less so, but that’s part of the fun.

I have to admit that before Let Me Explain popped up at the theater a couple of weeks back I was unfamiliar with Kevin Hart and his comedy. However, watching the people pour in, I knew I was going to have to check it out, and I’m glad that I did. The man is pretty damn funny.

Of course, the whole time I was watching it, I knew there really was only one movie to pair it with. Yeah, it’s the obvious one, but I also think it works very well because I really do think Mr. Hart could have an Eddie Murphy length career if he can (assuming he wants to) make the transition from stand-up to comedic actor. He’s certainly got the audience and the charm to bring to the right role if he can get it. Anyway, here’s Eddie when he was still in stand up mode from his first concert film, Delerious: (and yeah, since it’s probably been a long time since most people – myself included – have seen it, and since it was available, this is the full show)

Now I know and understand that some people may object to such an obvious comparison, and it may be unfair to Mr.. Hart to lump him in with another African-American comedian,  but the truth is, there’s just not that many other stand up concert shows out there that actually made it to theaters and had such an impact, and it was that factor, much more than race, that made this one my pick. Still, I’d really like to hear suggestions for other concert shows that fit the criteria. What can you guys come up with? Let me know in the comments below, along with any other upcoming movies you’d like to see “double featured”. Consider it, if you will, your chance to challenge me to come up with an interesting pair.

Until next time, Happy Viewing!

Leave a Comment

