Old Time Radio Thursdays – #015: Some Halloween Laughs

The short intro: For those who are unfamiliar with the concept, Old Time Radio is the phrase generally used to refer to the time when radio was (mostly) live, and was full of a variety of different shows, as opposed to simply being a means for record labels to use robots to promote the top records of the day. Old Time Radio Thursdays is my chance to explore some of those old radio shows, their connections (both old and new) to movies, and hopefully to encourage some of the rest of you to take a look at a probably unfamiliar source of entertainment that I truly love. If you want more info on OTR, and some examples of the variety of shows that were made, be sure to check out this introductory post.

Of course, this being October, there’s a lot of Halloween creepiness going on here on the blog and elsewhere, but I thought as a kind of contrast today I’d give you a few laughs to go along with all of that, courtesy of some of the great Old Time Radio stars. I’m not going to do a whole lot of writing about these shows today, instead I’m simply going to invite you to kick back and enjoy with me.

And for those of you who enjoy things on the spookier side, well, don’t worry. I’ll be back next week with a Halloween horrors sampler.

Until next time, Happy Listening!

3 comments on “Old Time Radio Thursdays – #015: Some Halloween Laughs

  1. Aurora says:

    Not surprising but I LOVE THIS!!!

    Aurora

    BTW – are you on Twitter?

  2. […] Last week I gave you a sampling of comedy shows with a Halloween theme. This week, I figure it’s time for a creepier sampling, so here area variety of different horror offerings from the Golden Age of Radio. Again, I’m not going to do a whole lot of writing about these shows today, instead I’m simply going to invite you to kick back and enjoy them with me. […]

  3. […] A couple of weeks ago we listened to a sampling of comedy shows with a Halloween theme. Last week, we had a creepier sampling with, a variety of different horror offerings from the Golden Age of Radio. This week, I thought we’d bring the detective and mystery shows into play, so here is a selection of dramas all somehow related to the spookiest holiday of the year. […]

Leave a Comment

