Site Info: I’ll Be Participating In the Classic Movie History Project Blogathon. Yay!

So I just got invited by Fritzi over at Movies, Silently to participate in the upcoming Classic Movie History Project Blogathon, which she is hosting along with the good folks at Silver Screenings and Once Upon a Screen. As she says in her announcement,

I firmly believe that there is a little bit of the historian in every classic movie fan. After all, we love films that were made before we were even a gleam in our father’s eye. Well, here’s our chance to collaborate on a project celebrating the history of motion pictures

Most movie blogathons center around actors, topics, genres or eras of film. This event is going to focus on individual years. Our range is 1915 to 1950. Participants will each focus on one individual year in the history of film. The event will be held January 12-14, 2014.

This one looks like its going to be a lot of fun. Rather than pick a year myself, I asked Fritzi to just assign me a year, and  the one she gave me was 1920 which is chock full of true classics of the silent era: The Cabinet of Dr. Caligari, The Golem, Dr. Jekyll and Mr. Hyde, Way Down East, The Mark of Zorro, Outside the Law, The Son of Tarzan, and lots more.

I haven’t decided yet exactly how I’m going to approach this, but I do know that I’m in for lots of fun silent film watching between now and the new year. Oh, and if you have any suggestions for not-to-be-missed films from 1920 or other things that I might want to look for or think about, I’d love to see your suggestions in the comments below. And of course, I’ll be giving you more details, and a link to the list of all the participating blogs, as the dates get closer.

classic-movie-yearbook-blogathon-header

Leave a Comment

