Top 250 Tuesday #239 – The Cabinet of Dr. Caligari (1920) – Sort Of

Continuing to wend my way through the Sight and Sound Top 250 Greatest Movies of All Time. This week, it’s #239 on the list, Robert Weine‘s The Cabinet of Dr. Caligari. For a longer introduction to this series and a look at the full list, just click here. And if you want a heads-up on what I’ll be watching for next week in case you want to watch along, just head on over to the Facebook page or follow me on Twitter (both of those links are in the sidebar) where I’ll generally be posting that info later in the day.

Actually, I plan to do a more full write-up of Caligari sometime in the future, but finding myself kind of pressed for time this week I thought that I would at least note that it is #239 on the list and that you can see some of my thoughts on it in the post that I wrote on the year 1920 for the recent (actually wrapping up today) Classic Movie History Project Blogathon.

Also, just to keep you from leaving completely empty-handed today, I thought I’d include a couple of videos relating to Caligari, German Expressionism, and their continued importance and influence.

Again, apologies for the short nature of this post, but I will be back next week with a new full-length feature.

Enhanced by Zemanta
This entry was posted in Movies.

Leave a Comment

