Saturday Double Feature: Monuments Men (2014) and…

Saturday on the blog means Saturday Double Feature, right? Remember, the basic idea here is to take a movie that is out in theaters now, and pair it up with another movie from the 1980s or before. Sometimes the connection will be obvious, and sometimes it’ll be a little less so, but that’s part of the fun.

So this week we get three rather big releases in theaters, and one of them is on my list of most anticipated movies of the first part of the year, The Monuments Men:

I’ve noted before, I’m a huge fan of the “let’s get a gang together and pull off the big heist” type films, and when they’re set during the war, that really just serves to up the stakes, now doesn’t it?

So, what to pair that with? Once again, the answer seems pretty obvious, since it’s my personal answer to the question “What’s your favorite war movie. Yep, it’s the 1970 ensemble movie Kelly’s Heroes.

Yeah, it’s really been too long since I’ve sat down and watched that one.

Anyway, what do you think? Do you have any other ideas for pairing films with The Monuments Men? if so, let me know below. And also let me know of any other upcoming movies you’d like to see “double featured”. Consider it, if you will, your chance to challenge me to come up with an interesting pair.

Until next time, Happy Viewing!

Enhanced by Zemanta
4 comments on “Saturday Double Feature: Monuments Men (2014) and…

  1. Jerald says:

    Love Kelly’s Heroes, but the movie that came to mind was Escape to Athena, more from the recovering Nazi stolen artwork angle.

    • Michael Laws says:

      Unfortunately, I have to admit that I haven’t ever seen Escape to Athena, but I just looked up the trailer on YouTube and it does look like a lot of fun. another similar movie that someone suggested to me is The Train, which I’m also looking forward to watching soon. Unfortunately, having literally just walked back in to door from seeing Monuments Men, I have to say that all three of those movies look to be a lot more entertaining and fun than M M. I’ll be posting a more in-depth commentary in the next couple of days, but… yeah, i was definitely hoping for better.

      • Jerald says:

        Disappointing. With that caste I was hoping for something fairly good. I’ve come up with my own rating system – watch it at the theater, wait for the DVD, wait for it to air on cable or skip it all together. Which one does this fall under?

      • Michael Laws says:

        hmm… tough call… in my own system (very similar) i’d call it a redbox rental or wait for it on netflix streaming… i enjoyed it, but it’s not something i’d encourage anyone to pay even a matinee price for, but i wouldn’t say skip it either…

        and, yeah, it was the cast that was the appeal for me, too, but unfortunately, none of them are really given a moment to shine… i won’t say they’re interchangeable, but the truth is that clooney, as director never really gives them an opportunity to bring their “a game” to the table… especially murray and goodman… there’s no particular reason for them to be playing the characters they are…

Leave a Comment

