Hope For The Best, Dread The Worst – Here’s The New Trailer For Showtime’s Penny Dreadful

Episode 101I suspect Showtime’s upcoming Penny Dreadful is one of those shows that’s going to either be very very good or very very bad. Of course, the worst thing it could be is simply boring. I’m really hoping that the characters will be given some room to breathe and take on a life (or in some cases, I suppose, death) of their own. Of course, we’ve seen this kind of public domain character melange before, perhaps most notably with 2003’s League of Extraordinary Gentlemen, which honestly I found to be somewhat lacking as a comic book, and completely derisible as a movie. Fortunately, since this is going to be a series and not a movie that’s going to have to not only introduce these characters to the audience but also develop a plot and come to a conclusion within two hours or less, I think it does stand a pretty good chance. I suppose we’ll find out in May.

I will say that that looks very promising to me.

Enhanced by Zemanta
Leave a Comment

