Saturday Double Feature: Mr. Peabody and Sherman (2014) and…

Saturday on the blog means Saturday Double Feature, right? Remember, the basic idea here is to take a movie that is out in theaters now, and pair it up with another movie from the 1980s or before. Sometimes the connection will be obvious, and sometimes it’ll be a little less so, but that’s part of the fun.

ps1By the way, if you’re a fan of these double features, be sure to check out this post, which has the details of the new Saturday Double Feature Guessing Game. Be a winner! Show off your movie knowledge! Maybe even win an Actual Prize!

I kind of feel as though I should be more excited about Mr Peabody & Sherman than I am. After all, the show that the characters originated on, The Rocky and Bullwinkle Show, was a staple of my childhood, and, although it’s been awhile since I’ve watched any of the segments from it, I do remember Peabody’s Improbable History with fondness. I suppose a large part of my reticence is that I suspect that what worked well as shorts simply won’t translate as well when expanded in an attempt to make a feature-length film.

ps2Of course, this is far from the first time such an attempt has been made, and perhaps it’s for that reason that I have those feelings. Even ignoring other attempts to take the original characters and “update” or “expand” them, back in the early 80s Warner Brothers, looking for new ways to capitalize on the renewed popularity of their Bugs Bunny franchise, had the bright idea of simply compiling a number of their older shorts, editing them with a new wrap-around framing device, and releasing that to theaters, and it’s one of those attempts that I’ve chosen to pair up with Peabody for today’s double feature: 1982’s somewhat awkwardly titled Bugs Bunny’s 3rd Movie: 1001 Rabbit Tales.

As I said, this was a compilation of the original shorts, but the problem was that, being designed as shorts, they each told a complete story themselves. Therefore, in order to make them fit into the overarching new framework, they had to be edited, and especially the endings, where much of the humor was to be found, had to be changed. Nonetheless, I suppose it was at least an effort to keep these characters alive and to bring them to a new, young audience.

Rather, however, than a trailer for the compilation movie (which is available in full online), I thought I’d just post one of the original shorts, and perhaps the biggest reason that I picked this particular Bugs film over the others:

Unfortunately, that one was especially heinously cut, with the ending of it being used later in the film, with Bugs’s last line being completely dropped.

So what do you think? Are you looking forward to or have you already seen Mr Peabody & Sherman? Do you have any other ideas for pairing films with it? if so, let me know below. And also let me know of any other upcoming movies you’d like to see “double featured”. Consider it, if you will, your chance to challenge me to come up with an interesting pair.

Until next time, Happy Viewing!

Enhanced by Zemanta
One comment on “Saturday Double Feature: Mr. Peabody and Sherman (2014) and…

  1. […] Saturday Double Feature: Mr. Peabody and Sherman (2014) and… (durnmoosemovies.wordpress.com) […]

Leave a Comment

