Top 250 Tuesday – An Interlude: Trailers For The Top Ten

sandsSince I’ve found myself with not as much time for a proper movie write-up as I would have liked this week, I thought I’d do something a little different, and give you a taste of things to come with a countdown of the top 10 via their trailers. Actually, “things to come” is not quite accurate, since I’ve already written about three of these (and I’ll link to those write-ups below), but that still leaves seven that I’ve yet to tackle. Anyway, here you go, counting down from number ten to number one:

#10: 8 ½ (Fellini, 1963)

#09 – The Passion of Joan of Arc (Dreyer, 1927) (This is actually a reissue trailer, but It’s the closest I could find to an actual trailer.)

#08 – Man with a Movie Camera (Vertov, 1929) (Another reissue trailer, tis time for a showing with a live score, but it serves the purpose well, I think.)

#07 – The Searchers (Ford, 1956)

#06 – 2001: A Space Odyssey (Kubrick, 1968)

#05 – Sunrise: a Song for Two Humans (Murnau, 1927)

#04 – La Règle du jeu (Renoir, 1939) (This trailer is for the Janus Films restoration/re-release.)

#03 – Tokyo Story (Ozu, 1953)

#02 – Citizen Kane (Welles, 1941)

#01 – Vertigo (Hitchcock, 1958)

So there you go. Just a bit of a look ahead. I am curious, though, if there are any of these that you’re particularly looking forward to, or that you particularly like yourself? Which of these, if you’ve seen them, would make your own personal top 10 and which ones wouldn’t? And are there any that you think are overrated, or perhaps there are some further down the list you think should be here in the top ten? Speak out in the comments below and let me know.

Enhanced by Zemanta
Leave a Comment

