Saturday Morning Cartoons #004 – Duck Dodgers

dd1There are traditionalists who would howl at the very concept of the existence of this series. We all know how the choruses go: “This is nothing but a cash-in attempt by Warner Brothers!”, “They’re tarnishing my childhood memories!”, etc. etc.

Let’s be honest, though, these arguments (and most others like them) really come down to one thing: “these are not the cartoons of my childhood”, and that’s true. They’re also not meant to be.

Yeah, I’ll be the first to admit that in the past I’ve raised the same objections in other contexts, but perhaps it’s a case of applied perspective. Sure, I’ll go happily go on rants about bad movies for example that take things that are beloved to me from my youth and turn them into things they were never meant to be (as anyone who has ever asked me about Man of Steel or the recent Dark Shadows movie will tell you), but my objection to those movies really comes down to the fact that they’re simply bad movies. And even as I’m railing about the faults of Dark Shadows, I still know that I have the hundreds of available episodes still available to me to watch. And I will do so quite happily.

All of which is to say that while yes, I realize that this Duck Dodgers series (which ran on Cartoon Network from 2003 to 2005) can be seen from the perspectives I’ve talked about above, that’s really not fair to the show itself nor to the creators who worked on it. Because though I haven’t watched much of it, it’s actually not a terrible series.

Taking the characters of Daffy Duck and Porkey Pig from the original Duck Dodgers in the 24 and 1/2th Century cartoon and expanding upon them and creating an entire universe around them, I’ve actually found the show to be entertaining.

So I guess what I’m saying, in the end, especially to my older readers who will write this off as a mere rip-off, is : “Give it a chance. It may turn out not to be your thing, but that’s cool. On the other hand, you may like it, and then you’ve found something new to enjoy.”

And that’s never bad thing, right?

 

Leave a Comment

