Twofer Tuesday (Part 2) – The Last Witch Hunter (2015) and Witchfinder General (1968)

Earlier today I posted one possible Double Feature idea that I had based on the trailer for an upcoming movie, and, well, since the idea is “Twofer Tuesday”, why not another one?

I’m actually of two minds about Vin Diesel’s upcoming The Last Witch Hunter. It could be a fun just grab some popcorn and check your brain at the door action flick, or it could be a complete CGI crapfest. That’s something we won’t know until it comes out. But, I’m inclined at the moment to give it the benefit of the doubt, and will probably at least give it a look.

The thing is, though, that whenever I hear the title I can’t help but think of Vincent Price’s 1968 movie Witchfinder General. Plus, let’s be honest, any time I have an excuse to plug a Vincent Price movie here it’s a good day.

So what do you think? Have you seen Witchfindeer General? Do you have any kind of anticipation for The Last Witch Hunter? And do you have any thoughts about other possible double feature pairings of this type? If so, let me know about them in the comments below or over on the DMM Facebook page.

2 comments on “Twofer Tuesday (Part 2) – The Last Witch Hunter (2015) and Witchfinder General (1968)

  1. Wendy Brydge says:

    “Witchfinder General” (which I first knew as “The Conqueror Worm”) is definitely one of Price’s best films, albeit one that isn’t mentioned as frequently as it should be. A dark topic and role, but I think it’s an important film for anyone to watch. And as you might agree, any Vincent Price film is great simply because he’s in it!

    This is the first I’d heard of “The Last Witch Hunter”, and it’s certainly a film I now plan to see. It seems like a nice blend of period and action, and Diesel is a decent actor. I haven’t been excited for a new film in quite some time, so thanks for highlighting one that’s right up my alley!

Leave a Comment

