For Better Or Worse, They’re Coming Back – Here’s The New Trailer For Independence Day: Resurgence (2016)

id2Ridiculous though it was, the original Independence Day is widely credited with really solidifying the concept of the Wide-screen, Wide-release Summer Blockbuster. Whether that’s a good thing or a bad thing depends, I suppose, upon your perspective. (I suspect those of you who know me or are long-time readers can guess where I stand on the subject.) Actually I have always considered the original a fairly decent grab some popcorn, check your brain at the door, and just let the movie be what it’s going to be kind of film, and there is a place for those.

Anyway, here we are (or at least will be next year), 20 years later, and the sequel Independence Day: Resurgence will finally be hitting theaters. I say “finally” not because this is something I (or many other people I suspect) have been waiting for with baited breath, (which is a good thing because by now that bait would probably be getting pretty smelly) but because it’s really quite surprising that it’s taken so long.

But, I suppose that’s just another sign of where we are in the course of these theatrical releases.

As far as the trailer goes, It sets up the premise pretty well, gives us a good feel for who’s coming back and who isn’t, and does a good job of showing how much the stakes have been raised since the events of the first film. Now we just have to hope that the film itself can deliver on what it promises.

In other words,, I’ve got my brain and my cellphone both turned off, so let’s see what you can deliver.

 

This entry was posted in Movies.

Leave a Comment

