It’s Spoiler-Free Because I Haven’t Seen The Movie Yet – Here’s My Review of Star Wars: The Force Awakens

sw1Yeah, it’s true, I haven’t seen Star Wars: The Force Awakens yet, and it’s likely that I won’t for a couple of weeks. That’s Just the way my life is right now. And of course, I’m trying my best right now to stay away from any other reviews and spoilers. But why should I let that keep me from going ahead and chiming in with my own opinion on the movie? No reason I can think of. After all, that’s how things work on today’s interwebs, right?

Okay, so here goes:

Is SW:TFA The. Best. Movie. Ever? No.

Does it live up to all the hyperbole and over-heightened expectations that are going to be brought to it? No, but at this point, no movie could, so…

Instead, Star Wars: The Force Awakens is a perfectly good entry into the canon, with just enough call back to the original movie to satisfy the long time fans, and just enough new characters to excite younger viewers who want something new for themselves and marketers who get to make all kinds of buck off merch.

There’s loads of action and some nice quieter character moments, but how well the film balances the two will largely depend on which is more important to you as the viewer and what expectations you bring to the table. The movie also moves forward the entire story of the ongoing Star Wars universe, but again how well it manages that will be largely dependent upon how much of that you expect and how invested you are in the original movies and all the peripheral ephemera that has come since.

sw2So in the end, the real question that you’re looking for from any review is “Should I go see the movie?”. But let’s be honest, you already know the answer to that. More than likely, if you’re reading this, you’re going to no matter what I say here. And if you’re not planning to, whether it’s through sheer indifference to the franchise or whatever other reason, there’s probably not much I’m going to say that’s going to convince you otherwise. You’ve seen the trailers (or at least the innumerable TV spots), you’ve heard and read about all the excitement the film has generated, and you’re unlikely to change your mind just because I say you should.

So go. Enjoy yourself. And remember, as you’re exiting the theater, no matter how you feel about it, there are now going to be at least two more direct sequels and a lot more Star Wars to come. Because in the end, Star Wars: The Force Awakens is exactly what it’s supposed to be: a movie that puts a lot of butts in seats and makes a lot of money for everyone involved.

 

 

This entry was posted in Movies.

One comment on “It’s Spoiler-Free Because I Haven’t Seen The Movie Yet – Here’s My Review of Star Wars: The Force Awakens

  1. […] Movie Musings reviewed the film before he had even seen it. Now that’s […]

Leave a Comment

