Hunh? Wha?! A Cloverfield Sequel In March? Apparently So. – Here’s The Surprise Poster And Trailer For 10 Cloverfield Lane (2016)

10aDon’t feel bad if you didn’t know there was a sequel to Cloverfield coming out in March. Apparently nobody else did either. According to Wired, J.J. Abrams and his Bad Robot crew somehow managed to sneak the filming of 10 Cloverfield Lane under the radar of pretty much everyone. Even with the surprise release of the trailer, there’s not much to go on, except that it stars John Goodman, Mary Elizabeth Winstead, and John Gallagher, Jr., and at least begins in some sort of underground bunker.

What awaits outside? Good question. But it looks like Goodman is about to find out.

Of course, what makes this even more interesting is that Abrams was able to pull this off in this age of pre-casting announcements, internet spies everywhere, leaked footage and trailers causing big-name studios to release trailers like this ahead of time, and years of build-up to even the least movies, so congrats to them on that.

Of course, they also had the advantage of having their involvement with a Certain Other Movie diverting attention away from what they were doing with this.

Anyway, here’s the trailer:

Of course, I suppose this also means I’m going to have to actually sit down and watch the original which I never actually got around to, (I really was not turned on by the “found footage” aspect of it) though from the looks of the new trailer that may not truly be necessary. Still, it has been on my “to watch” list, so I’m just using this as incentive.

And just for good measure, here’s one of the trailers for that one, too.

2 comments on “Hunh? Wha?! A Cloverfield Sequel In March? Apparently So. – Here’s The Surprise Poster And Trailer For 10 Cloverfield Lane (2016)

  1. Dude, I am SO PSYCHED for this, flippin pssssssyched!!!!!!!!!! I was obsessed with Cloverfield when it came out (yes, I was one of those people trying to figure out everything I could before the movie even landed). Looks like I have some more speculating/searching to do before March…

    • Michael Laws says:

      Yeah, like I said, I never actually got around to watching the original, but something about this trailer (most likely the presence of John Goodman, who is often enough to get me to watch a movie I might otherwise pass on) has me excited enough for this sequel that I plan to rectify that oversight before this one drops.

Leave a Comment

