X-Men: Apocalypse (2017)

xma1I suppose a sufficient indication of my excitement and anticipation for this movie is the fact that I’m just now getting around to seeing it.

The good news? I didn’t hate it.

On the other hand, I didn’t love it either.

Let’s just be honest: X-Men: Apocalypse is another one of those movies that is perfectly entertaining while your sitting through it, but doesn’t actually bear up under even the slightest bit of scrutiny.

I could very easily sit here and go through all of the things that are wrong with this movie, but I think I’ll leave that to the Cinema Sins guys (you know, the ones responsible for the “Everything Wrong With [insert movie title] In [X number of] Minutes” videos, because they will be sharper and more amusing about it than I would, and anyway, that would simply be a case of devoting more time and writing energy to X-M:A than it really deserves.

xma2Instead I’ll simply say that I’m rather hoping that the resulting box office for this movie is such that it hastens the day that Fox decides the franchise isn’t lucrative enough for them and either lets the rights revert back to Marvel or the two studios manage to strike up some sort of deal that lets the characters revert back to their home studio, not only so that we can get better X-Men movies, but also so that they (the characters that make up the X-Men universe) can be more fully integrated into the Marvel Cinematic Universe.

Because until then I have a feeling that every couple or three years, I’m going to be writing this same review, just with a different title attached.

Bottom line: if you’ve loved or even liked the previous X-Men movies then sure, go ahead and see this one too. Why not? There are worse ways to spend a summer afternoon or evening. But if you;re looking for something that is an improvement on what has come before, then don’t bother, because you’re not going to find it here.

Here’s a trailer:

Leave a Comment

