Saturday Double Feature – Pete’s Dragon (2016) and…

p1Yep, it’s the return of what use to be a regular feature here on the blog, the Saturday Double Feature. the idea is to pair a movie that is out in theaters now with one from the past. The reason for the pairing can vary – sometimes it will be pretty obvious, for instance if the movie in question is a remake (though I generally try to avoid those if they’re particularly well known) or it could be thematic, or perhaps an aspect of the title that I just think could be use to connect the two, or at times it’ll just be something that occurs to me as I’m thinking about the new movie. Basically anything that makes me think that the two films would make a good pair for viewing together.

Usually fir the second film I try to choose one that was released in the 80s or before, but I’m making an exception in the case of this week’s duo.

So let’s start with the new movie for this week. Pete’s Dragon is, of course a remake of the 1977 Disney semi-animate adventure/comedy film, about a boy who is friends with… well, a dragon.

Rather than go with he obvious, however, and pair it with the original version, I thought I’d go with a lesser-known film that I feel deserves more attention: The Secret of Roan Inish from 1994. Like Pete’s Dragon, Roan Inish deals with the relationship of a young child an a mythical creature, however in this case the creature is one from Irish legend known as a selkie. According to legend, selkies are seals who can shed their skins and become human on the land.

Thee Secret of Roan Inish was produced by Sarah Green an Maggie Renzi, and was directed by John Sayles. It’s based on a children’s novel called Secret of the Ron Mor Skerry written by Rosalie K. Fry.

Here’s a trailer:

Like I said above, though it breaks the pre-90s rule that I usually try to follow, I really like Roan Inish, and truly think it should have more than the cult following that it seems to now.

So, have you seen The Secret of Roan Inish? If so, what did you think about it, and what do you think of it as a pairing with Pete’s Dragon? Is there another film that you think would make a good double feature with it? Let me know in the comments below.

This entry was posted in Movies.

Leave a Comment

