Is The Joke Really On Warner Bros.? – Here’s That “Leaked” Suicide Squad Teaser Now In All It’s Official Glory

Really, after the past few years, Warner Brothers should have known that anything that they show at ComicCon is going to wind up on the internet almost before it’s finished showing there. That’s why it’s hard to take seriously their claims and protests that they were “forced” to release this footage before they wanted to. Nonetheless, the genie is out of the bottle, and here’s the official HiRes version.

As far as the teaser itself goes, I have little comment to make. Opinion seems divided online, but to me, the tone (which is really about all you get from this, and as we all know, there’s no telling how much the final product will actually match this early look) seems about right for what I would be looking for from a group called The Suicide Squad.

I will go ahead and jump into the fray concerning Jared Leto’s portrayal of the Joker, since that has been the most high-profile source of conflict and debate online by simply saying that since there have been all kinds of portrayals of the character over the years, not only in movies and on television, but in the comics themselves, as long as the portrayal falls into some very loosely based guidelines and doesn’t violate what I consider to be the basic tenets of the character, I’m going to be very forgiving if it. Sure, I’d rather not see the tattoos and the grill, and i hope this is just a one-shot performance and not the direction that WB is planning to go with the character moving forward, in this one instance, I’m willing to just ride with it. But that’s really the kind of question that we won’t have any clue about, I suspect, until we get more information about the now-confirmed Bat-Fleck solo picture, and that’s quite a ways off.

Okay, that’s enough from me, here’s the teaser:

So what do you think? How do you feel about what we can tell about the characters and the tone of the movie? Hit the comments and let me know.

Leave a Comment