Throwing A Wet Blanket On A Blazing Saddle – It’s The Pilot For The Unsold Black Bart TV Series (1975)

10Why? Really, just… why?

Why try to spin a TV show out of a hit comedy film like Blazing Saddles when you can’t use any of the elements that made to film so original and funny?

And why am I sharing it with you now?

I’ll admit, most of the time I would file this kind of thing under the heading of either “Yeah, this exists” and go ahead and maybe post a link to it on the Durnmoose Movie Facebook page (see the kind of fun you’re missing if you haven’t gone there and “liked” the page? Why don’t you take a minute to do that now? Trust me, Black Bart and I will still be here when you get back. Unfortunately.) or I’d not  even bother doing that and just let it go with a shrug and put it in my own personal “Okay, I watched that so you don’t have to” file. (Yeah, honestly, there’s a lot of this kind of thing that I sort through and throw away without ever even bothering to mention having watched it. See what a nice guy I am?)

black-bartBut no, I think this time I’m actually going to post the whole dang thing.

Why?

Because I know that there are going to be some of you out there who are going to find this wildly entertaining.

Because I know somewhere out there there’s going to be that person who thinks that Lou Gossett and Steve Landesberg are adequate replacements for Cleavon Little and Gene Wilder.

Because I know that some of you are actually going to be shocked by the fact that a major network sitcom could actually use the “N-word” (GASP! How dare they!) back in 1975. (Of course, there may actually be some validity to that shock when we can’t even use the word on television today even in a discussion of using it.)

But you want to know the real reason I’m posting it and encouraging you to go ahead and watch it?

Because sometimes, as “they” say, misery simply loves company.

Well, at least the laugh track was amused.

Enhanced by Zemanta

Leave a Comment