Saturday Double Feature Bonus: The Haunting (1963) and…

So earlier today I posted the usual Saturday Double Feature where I take a movie that’s currently in the theaters an pair it with another movie from the 90s or before to make an imaginary double feature. You know, like if I were running my own theater and could pick and choose movies at a whim without worrying about studio or corporate restraints or anything like that. Anyway, in that earlier post, I paired up the recently released The Conjuring with 1963’s The Haunting.

The_Legend_of_Hell_HouseThere was, however, another movie that I considered going with, but ultimately I decided to choose the classic. Tonally, it’s simply a better fit. Still, I got to thinking, there’s no reason I couldn’t do a second double bill today that would pair The Haunting with a film that is basically its lesser-known and more lurid cousin. What would that be? None other than Richard Matheson‘s 1973 adaptation of his novel Hell House, it’s The Legend of Hell House, directed by John Hough, and starring Roddy McDowall and Pamela Franklin

Yeah, I think watching those two back to back could be a lot of fun. What do you think? Have you got any other ideas for a good double bill? if so, let me know below. And also let me know of any other upcoming movies you’d like to see “double featured”. Consider it, if you will, your chance to challenge me to come up with an interesting pair.

Until next time, Happy Viewing!

Leave a Comment