Juliet Binoche To Fight Godzilla?

Okay, I usually don’t post this kind of thing. I really don’t want this to be one of those latest news/rumor type sites, but since this particular story is about the confluence of two things I absolutely love, I’m definitely willing to make an exception.

Godzilla
Sorry, big guy, but you may have just met your match (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

According to this article in Variety, one of my favorite actresses (and in my mind, one of the classiest and most stunning women in the world of film), Juliette Binoche is in negotiations to join the cast of Gareth Edwards’ upcoming Godzilla remake/reboot. Honestly, this Godzilla movie becomes more and more intriguing the more I hear about it. According to early word, the movie is going to be much closer in tone to the Japanese original than to the later sequels and certainly than the most recent American version. Thankfully. Also, with Aaron Taylor-Johnson and Elizabeth Olsen reportedly also ready to join the cast, and Pacific Rim producer Mary Parent working behind the scenes, this new Godzilla may really be something to look out for.

(BTW, just om a side note, Pacific Rim is one of my most anticipated blockbusters for this summer. Again, at first I was skeptical, but it keeps looking better and better.)

Anyway, back to Binoche. For those who may not know her, here she is in a short clip from the first movie I ever saw her in, Krzysztof Kieslowski’s Bleu, part of his Trois Couleurs trilogy:

She’s also starred in films such as Chocolat, The English Patient, Cache, and last year’s Cosmopolis which was directed by David Cronenberg and starred current “man of the hour” Robert Pattinson, but this would be her first turn in a real American blockbuster, and while I would hate to see her turn her lovely eyes completely toward Hollywood, if it helps to bring her to the awareness of an entirely new audience, then that is definitely a good thing.

Leave a Comment